What's new

Reciever wattage question? Importance? (1 Viewer)

Jesse Sharrow

Supporting Actor
If a speaker says power handling 25-100 watts @ 6ohms, now if I put a 200 at 8ohms receiver on it.... is it going to damage the speaker? I work car audio and I am just getting into home audio... so Im not sure. Im guessing if its good clean power it will be fine.

Im talking Infinity kappa 200's and a sunfire Ultimate Reciever.

John Royster

Screenwriter
Jesse,

You are correct. Good clean power is everything and your ears will tell you when your speaker can't take it or your amp is wimping out. Carver/sunfire can seriously push power..most times the speaker cries mercy before the amp.

Myo K

Stunt Coordinator
to avoid any problems that may result in impedence mismatch, i wouldnt pair 6ohm speakers to an amp unless the amp is capable of handling 6ohm speakers.

Jason.Soko

Stunt Coordinator
Current is what drives your speakers. Don't worry about wattage being to low. I've seen a 20watt per channel tube amplifier make speakers sing, LOUDLY. Wattage means very little.

Chu Gai

Senior HTF Member
Thou art safe and very correct in your thinking. One could of course damage speakers in a variety of ways. I'm guesstimating that somewhere around 75% of the maximum continuous power of your speakers, that their distortion will start to become a factor in your listening pleasure.