What's new

Receiver choice for ~$400: Onkyo 595 or Denon 1802 (1 Viewer)

Jeff Krane

Auditioning
I'm just beginning to put together a Home Theater setup and have already learned a lot by reading this forum. My goals are fairly modest: a low end (read $$), decent quality, setup mainly for DD5.1 from satellite and DVD with music a lower priority. Ease of use will be important for spousal acceptance and volume is not important for the same reason (my wife complains when I play the TV too loud!). Right now I am looking for a receiver and am thinking Denon 1802 vs Onkyo 595 (want to have DPLII). I gather that Denon remotes are not great, but this seems trivial as I anticipate using an add-on universal remote. I have heard that Denon receivers do not retain settings when switching sources, if true this could cause annoying volume fluctuations that could influence my choice. At present, I am leaning towards matching the receiver with Energy Take 5.2 speakers and sub.
Any opinions on these receivers would be greatly appreciated. --Jeff

Nick G

Stunt Coordinator
You can not go wrong with either receiver, they are both good units. I have the Onkyo 595 and am perfectly happy with it. Try to listen to them both with the speakers you want to buy and get the one that sounds best to you.
Regards, Nick

BryanZ

Screenwriter
Are you going to add any amplifiers on in the future or do you think you will? If the answer to that question is yes or maybe, go with the Denon. If the answer is definately not, get the Onkyo. Listen to both regardless. If DPL II isn't that important, look at a B stock Outlaw 1050 or Yamaha RX-V520 (maybe 620).
To me, the Onkyo had the better faceplate and better remote. The Outlaw had preouts for all channels and an excellent remote versus the Denons LCR preouts and horrid (IMO) remote. The sound (to me): Onkyo is fairly nuetral. Denon is warm. Yamaha is a little bright (compared to the Onkyo and Denon). The Outlaw is clean.