What's new

RANT: This HDMI vrs. Component Crap!!! (1 Viewer)

Scooter

Screenwriter
Real Name
Scooter
So last night I decide I wanna watch BTTF3 on my Toshiba A2. The projector and player are set at 1080I and thus far, has played fine. This is my first attempt at watching an SD on it. I know that via component, the best it will do is 480, but que sera...it is what it is.

So I pop in the disc, and the screen is ALL over the place!!! Rolling picture, top of image tearing...yadda yadda. So I start changing the settings on the projector but to no avail. So, I go to the player and suddenly NO PICTURE!!! Not stopping there, I try the Panny BD and get same result. And the Panny had been a complete pain in the ass to begin with to be able to watch BD, I decided not to screw around with it.

I wound up having to connect the composite (S-Video would have been a REAL pain to connect) so I can set the player to 480I. It doesn't simply default to 480 when an SD is played.

The whole obsession Holywood has with piracy is nonsense. Anyone who spends 10 seconds doing a Google search can see that not only has the copy prevention and region coding on SD been decimated, but to a large degree, so have protections on HD-DVD and BD as well!!! The only ones punished are those seeking to play their store bought, studio produced DVD's without performing a dance with the player's menu to be able to watch. If I had stayed in school and gotten my law degree...I would certainly be considering a court ordered remedy application by now.

I watched a backed up copy of an SD via the Tosh a month or so ago and not only did it simply...play...but upconverted as well!!! Thus...copying or downloading pirated SD's is rewarded, as is creating "dummy load" adapters to fool a player's sense of an HDMI connection. Being legit is punished, plain and simple!