What's new

Questions about hooking up an amp to receiver. (1 Viewer)

Trigger38

Auditioning
Real Name
Mike
Hello, i currently have a Denon 1910 avr. I was thinking about getting an amp to power my front L/R towers (polk audio rt12). Well first off i'm not sure if i even need an amp or the difference it will make in 2 channel sound. if i do get an amp, how does this affect the surround when in 5.1/7.1? Do i control the volume of the surrounds from the receiver and the L/R from the amp or..... As you can probably tell im new to the home theater world. I'm very unfamiliar with amps/preamps/integrated amps ect... any advice, recommendations, or help would be much appreciated.

p.s. i know i need to use rca from the preouts on the back of the receiver to an amp then speaker wire from amp to speakers! i've figured out that much.

Thanks, Mike

Ed Moxley

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Ed
Two things.........

Your Denon receiver doesn't have pre-outs, so an external amp won't hookup to it.

Also, the RT12 speakers are 8 ohm, so they shouldn't need an amp. The Denon should drive them just fine.

Enjoy!

Trigger38

Auditioning
Real Name
Mike
oh i thought it did have pre outs what are all the rca inputs on the back of the receiver for? it says ext. in, not sure what that means and the denon manual doesn't help. i just figured those were preouts... well that kinda sux cause i wanted to upgrade speakers to the polk audio RTiA9's and from what ive read, they need an amp. thanks Ed

Ed Moxley

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Ed