1. Guest,
    If you need help getting to know Xenforo, please see our guide here. If you have feedback or questions, please post those here.
    Dismiss Notice

Question regarding upgrading hard drive on Macbook Pro

Discussion in 'Apple' started by Ronald Epstein, Jan 28, 2009.

  1. Ronald Epstein

    Ronald Epstein Administrator
    Owner

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 1997
    Messages:
    44,707
    Likes Received:
    3,677
    Real Name:
    Ronald Epstein
    In about two weeks I will probably upgrade my 120GB Macbook Pro
    hard drive to 320GB. Already have a drive selected as a friend from
    work recently upgraded his drive.

    I want to avoid having to reinstall everything.

    My question is simple...

    If I copy everything to an external drive using SuperDuper, can I
    simply restore it to the new drive and expect everything to work fine?

    Or, is there information a hard drive writes to the software that is
    only compatible with that drive?

    Thanks
     
  2. Carlo Medina

    Carlo Medina Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 1997
    Messages:
    10,337
    Likes Received:
    562
    I don't use SuperDuper, though I've heard good things about it, and it sounds like you just make a bootable clone and away you go.

    I use Carbon Copy Cloner (latest version) and it is a simple clone -> swap HDs -> as if you were using the same HD but with more empty space. I've swapped my MBP HD twice now (120 to 200 to 320GB) and it's worked like a charm each time. I also back up and clone back to my HD every 6 months or so to defrag because that's a side benefit to using CCC (and Super Duper I assume).
     
  3. Michael_K_Sr

    Michael_K_Sr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,358
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Chicago 'burbs
    Real Name:
    MichaelK
    SuperDuper or Carbon Copy Cloner will make the job painless for you, Ron.
     
  4. Eric M Jones

    Eric M Jones Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2000
    Messages:
    398
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ron, do you have your current drive backed up to Time Machine? You can easily setup your new drive with all your old stuff directly from the time machine if you do. I used this method a few months ago when I switched machines and it was easy and worked very well.

    -EJ
     
  5. Ronald Epstein

    Ronald Epstein Administrator
    Owner

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 1997
    Messages:
    44,707
    Likes Received:
    3,677
    Real Name:
    Ronald Epstein
    Eric,

    No. I don't currently use Time Machine because the HP Media
    Center I bought does not support it. However, they are issuing
    a software update soon that will enable support.

    I can just use SuperDuper. Should work fine.
     
  6. Eric M Jones

    Eric M Jones Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2000
    Messages:
    398
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, I'm sure Super Duper will do the trick. I just mentioned the TM solution because it requires no extra backing up or file transferring if you're already using it.

    -EJ
     
  7. DaveF

    DaveF Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2001
    Messages:
    16,605
    Likes Received:
    1,152
    Location:
    One Loudoun, Ashburn, VA
    Real Name:
    David Fischer
    Yes.

    I backed up to superduper, booted from the external backup, reformatted my internal drive and repartitioned it for BootCamp, and then did a full restore from the external back to the internal. It pretty easy and straightforward.

    I suggest not wiping the original until you've booted from the external and done a "sanity" check that it works.
     

Share This Page