What's new

Question Regarding HTiB DVD System and Audio Connections Associated (1 Viewer)

ElementalVibe

Auditioning
Real Name
Stephen
I'd just like to start out by saying I'm relatively new to the whole Home Theater Setup and such. I recently acquired, over the past few months, a great interest in the workings of speakers, HT setups, and the like. I've researched some things in my free time but still have some lingering questions on setting up my own little thing in my room.

My dad left me a DVD "Home Theater in a Box" system that comes with its own basic speakers and subwoofer (it's 5.1 surround). Here's the model and its specs: www.retrevo.com/search. The Front L/R, Rear L/R, and Subwoofer speakers are all plugged into the back of the system. It's nothing special, really, but as a beginner that's experimenting and all, it does me just fine I think.

I am looking to purchase a monitor for Christmas and am pretty confident on buying this one (multiple inputs for video was my main interest): www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx. The reason I am looking into a monitor rather than a TV is, one, my room wouldn't be able to display anything bigger very well, and two, it's practically a portable HDTV I can use at college and such.

Ok... With all that being said:

I plan to use my laptop's HDMI out port to plug into one of the back HDMI input ports on the monitor as well as plugging my game console (be it PS3 or XBOX 360) into the other HDMI input port (there's 2 total on the monitor). The monitor has a headphone out jack on the right side, allowing output of sound (it also has an optical audio out on the back). I would also like to plug my iPod into the RGB Audio IN Port via a 3.5mm male to 3.5mm male cable.