1. Guest,
    If you need help getting to know Xenforo, please see our guide here. If you have feedback or questions, please post those here.
    Dismiss Notice

PS3 and High Def via Component?

Discussion in 'Beginners, General Questions' started by Geoff H, Feb 4, 2008.

  1. Geoff H

    Geoff H Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2002
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Looking for a definitive answer here. Can High Def be achieved with the PS3 through Component? (my tv has no hdmi)

    TIA,

    Geoff
     
  2. Jason Harbaugh

    Jason Harbaugh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2001
    Messages:
    2,968
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes it can.
     
  3. Geoff H

    Geoff H Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2002
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0

    Thanks, I realize after I posted that I wasn't specific, I meant High Def when viewing HD movies not games...
     
  4. Stephen_J_H

    Stephen_J_H All Things Film Junkie
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,535
    Likes Received:
    395
    Location:
    North of the 49th
    Real Name:
    Stephen J. Hill
    The answer is still yes. The only thing the PS3 cannot do (and the HD DVD players, for that matter) is scale SD DVD up to 1080p via component. That is only available via HDMI. There are some exceptions to this rule (burned discs), but that is the general rule.
     
  5. ManW_TheUncool

    ManW_TheUncool Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2001
    Messages:
    5,945
    Likes Received:
    30
    Real Name:
    ManW
    Yep. I just use component output (via the ~$20 breakout cable) for 1080i output to my non-HDMI RPTV -- it doesn't offer 1080p via component out, but that probably won't matter. And like Stephen points out, only thing you cannot get is upconversion for regular DVDs, which is par for the course w/ most any other players whether Blu-ray or HD DVD or regular upconverting DVD players. Oh, it also does not pillar-box 4x3 DVDs via its 480p component out, if that matters to you.

    _Man_
     
  6. Geoff H

    Geoff H Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2002
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks all.

    I was of the understanding that the Blu-ray players could not be used via component, (with the exception of PS3) is this incorrect?
     
  7. Jason Harbaugh

    Jason Harbaugh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2001
    Messages:
    2,968
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes this is incorrect. All BD and HD players can display an HD image over component. What you are probably thinking of is the ICT (image constraint token) which when used will downrez the image from HD to 540p if displayed over a non HDCP connection. So far this hasn't been used and is in the specs for both HD and BD. It has shown up on a few HD titles over seas, but not in the US. It probably won't be used for another couple years if ever. Personally I think it is the most anticonsumer thing they could put on these discs. It does zero to deter pirating, which is why it was made in the first place, and only hurts the honest consumer trying to watch HD material on their HDTV from a few years ago.
     
  8. Geoff H

    Geoff H Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2002
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cool.

    Thanks for the clarification.
     
  9. y2khardtop

    y2khardtop New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    if movies studios eventually implement HDCP (copy protection), then componenet output will be scaled down to roughly DVD quality, but for now component works great right up to 1080i.
     
  10. alan halvorson

    alan halvorson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 1998
    Messages:
    2,021
    Likes Received:
    0

    HDCP is employed right now. It's the ICT Flag that you're thinking about, which will do what you describe. It's my opinion also that it will never, or rarely, be implemented. Pirates want digital and don't seem to give a hoot about analog.
     
  11. GordoH

    GordoH Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2003
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Good Morning...

    I recently bought a PS3 and I have it connected via component. However, my Sony RPTV (which only goes up to 1080i) has a DVI connection and a optical input. Will the PS3 upconvert standard DVDs using the DVI connection?

    Thanks in Advance...
    Gordon
     
  12. Tom BL

    Tom BL Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Assuming you'd be using an HDMI-to-DVI connection, then I don't see why not. As long as your TV is HDCP-compliant. Check your user manual to be sure.
     

Share This Page