What's new

Proper setup of 2 Zones (1 Viewer)

techbase

Auditioning
Real Name
Jason Faarberg
I Recently bought a Yamaha RX-A2000 7.1 Receiver and have setup the system with some Martin Logan Motion speakers, Oppo-93, Playstation, Xbox, Epson 3010e, popcorn hour C-200, and Sony Bravia LCD. I don't want to retire a Marantz 6.1 SR-4300 I scooped up as well so I was hoping to put it in a detached Garage and use it as an amp for Zone 2 speakers. Total Feet is approx. 120' through walls and 6" cement all of which has a pvc pipe route already laid out. I'm far from technically disadvantaged but I am a noob in regards to proper setup of this equipment. I am hoping for some help with opinions on the best connections setup. The Marantz has 6.1 input jacks. I would think that I should use the pre-out on the Yamaha to connect to the 6.1 inputs on the Marantz rather than run speaker wire. I don't want a loss of power to zone 1 or zone 2. I know with 8Ω speakers, 12AWG should be sufficient for speaker wire. RCA jacks at that length I could only find 22AWG. Is that sufficient to connect to the input? The 6.1 Channel input is also a weird setup...2 total jacks for the front, 2 total for surround, 1 jack each for Surr-Back, Center and sub. The sub I understand. APPRECIATE! any help regarding connection setup and recommendations for website to purchase wires at these lengths. Monoprice and Blue Jeans Cable are what I have been looking at so far.

gene c

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Gene