What's new

Power DVD and 32 bit color? (1 Viewer)

Vince Maskeeper

Senior HTF Member
Okey kids, bare with me, I'm now to this whole thing...
I got my first DVD-rom drive today (Toshiba) and it came with Power DVD. I installed it and ran trying out my first DVD movie playback...
And it failed.
Error Code: F6F00018
Current display mode is not supported
Power DVD does not support the current display mode. (DDraw overlay mode is recommended)
Please lower the screen resolution and color depth, for example 800x600 with 256 colors. Or you may adjust the refresh frequency, for example 75 HZ.
I lowered to 600x800 and it worked, but looked shitty (and of course I don't want to run my comp at 800x600 when I'm usually running 1280x1024. I tried running at 32 bit and changed the refresh to 75hz and it still didn't work.
Eventually I found I can run at 1280x1024 as long as I use 16 bit color.
Is PowerDVD not able to use 32 bit color, or is it just my video card? I'm new to this whole thing, but I would imagine that most people don't have to alter all their display settings to make DVD playback on their PC work.
-Vince
------------------
http://www.musicianassist.com
AIM: VinceMaskeeper
Interested in moving into FRONT PROJECTION with huge 6-10 foot widescreen? Buy my whole HDTV-ready CRT based front projection system delivered, cheap! Click here

Matt DeVillier

Supporting Actor
Vince,
software decoders work by creating an overlay surface using your video card's available memory. that surface is always in 24 bits per pixel. so Powerdvd needs ~1.5MB (960x540x24 bits) of video ram just to do the overlay, in addition to any video memory it is using to draw the desktop and any windows etc. what is likely happening to you is that your video card doesn't have enough memory to draw the desktop at 1280x1024x32 and have enough left over to do the overlay as well. 16-bit color takes a lot less memory to display and when using it you have enough left to draw the overlay as well.