What's new

Pls Help Me, Im A Newbie (1 Viewer)

David.DJ

Auditioning
yes , i am a newbie to home theater system in a box. i was wondering if you guys can help me find a home theater in a box that is atlest between 200-330watts of power and under $230. i also want to hook up my dvd player, xbox system, and other home audio hardware, so i can have surround sound. pls help

also, when i was researching for a home theater in a box, i checked out this RCA RT2350 is this good enough for my xbox and other home audio hardware to plug in, so i can have a surround sound. and does player a dolby digital 5.1 surround or is it about the same.

pls rate it between 1-10 thank you.

Jack Briggs

Senior HTF Member
David, run a search in this section as well as the Receivers/Amps section to find info on HTiBs. Audio/Video Sources also contains a number of posts/threads about all-in-one systems.

But the real reason I am responding to you is to disabuse you of the notion of "200-330 watts" of power from these concoctions. Such inflated figures are arrived at disengenuously, usually with the included receiver being driven into 6 ohms and measured at 1 kHz with only one channel driven and then multiplied by five (for five channels). Don't be misled by such egregious power claims.

Vince Maskeeper

Senior HTF Member
Yep, power output claims are all non-standard bullpoo anyway. Ignore them. Search here, read and get a feel for reputation of quality. It will serve you better than an Aiwa huck of junk that touts 400 watts.

-vince

Barry BB

Stunt Coordinator
In all honesty $230 will not buy you anything that you could put into the "decent" category. You should think about holding off until you can get up to the $500 to $600 range. Then you are in Kenwood HTIB or JBL territory which are both excellent low end set ups.

SteveKNJ

Stunt Coordinator