1. Guest,
    If you need help getting to know Xenforo, please see our guide here. If you have feedback or questions, please post those here.
    Dismiss Notice

Please add link back to "Search" page when search returns nothing

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by MickeS, Feb 10, 2002.

  1. MickeS

    MickeS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2000
    Messages:
    5,065
    Likes Received:
    1
    Right now, if the search doesn't find anything, a page comes up that says that nothing was found. Unfortunately, the back button goes back to automatically start the search, and of course ends up at the same page (sort of an infinite loop). In order to search again, one has to go back to the main page and navigate to the search page again.

    It would be great if a link back directly to the search page could be included, preferrably with the old search criteria intact on the page when it opens. Thanks.

    /Mike
     
  2. Mike Frezon

    Mike Frezon Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2001
    Messages:
    35,887
    Likes Received:
    4,570
    Location:
    Rensselaer, NY
     
  3. Adam Tyner

    Adam Tyner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2000
    Messages:
    1,413
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'd like this too. Is this the side effect of a mod of some sort? I haven't experienced this issue on other boards running vBulletin.
     
  4. Mike Frezon

    Mike Frezon Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2001
    Messages:
    35,887
    Likes Received:
    4,570
    Location:
    Rensselaer, NY
    Mike--

    I guess you got your wish! The search mode now seems to be working just the way you requested.

    Just hit your "back" button and you're back to the search page with the original criteria intact.
     
  5. Parker Clack

    Parker Clack Schizophrenic Man
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1997
    Messages:
    12,220
    Likes Received:
    57
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO
    Real Name:
    Parker
    I just put a redirect back to the search page if your results turn up nothing.

    Parker
     
  6. Mike Frezon

    Mike Frezon Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2001
    Messages:
    35,887
    Likes Received:
    4,570
    Location:
    Rensselaer, NY
     
  7. Parker Clack

    Parker Clack Schizophrenic Man
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1997
    Messages:
    12,220
    Likes Received:
    57
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO
    Real Name:
    Parker
    Mike:

    When you get a search result returned you will see, right below the Home Theater Forum logo, links that say Home Theater Forum > Search > ....

    If you click on the Search link it will take you back to the search page.

    Parker
     
  8. Mike Frezon

    Mike Frezon Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2001
    Messages:
    35,887
    Likes Received:
    4,570
    Location:
    Rensselaer, NY
    Parker--

    Thanks. But, the point is to be able to tweak your original search criteria without having to re-type everything in again. All I was asking was if it would be possible to hit your "back" button and return to the search page with the original criteria intact so you could fix the mis-spelling or make whatever other kind of change you wanted to try and get the desired results.

    If you hit the "search" button again after getting some results you are taken to a blank search page.

    Thanks.
     
  9. Mike Frezon

    Mike Frezon Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2001
    Messages:
    35,887
    Likes Received:
    4,570
    Location:
    Rensselaer, NY
    ^^^
     
  10. Parker Clack

    Parker Clack Schizophrenic Man
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1997
    Messages:
    12,220
    Likes Received:
    57
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO
    Real Name:
    Parker
    Mike:

    If you use Netscape then the back button will probably not work for you. For me if I find that I want to refine my search I just hit the back button and everything is kept. I use IE 6.0 with no problem at all.

    Other than what I have already done there is nothing else that I can add to this.

    Parker
     
  11. Rick Radford

    Rick Radford Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2001
    Messages:
    650
    Likes Received:
    0
    Parker, since you use IE 6.0 some, can you tell me where I can change a setting so as to have a page come up full screen instead of the mini-screen?

    I like to have multiple windows open at once, i.e. be able to end the screen and go back to the last page without having to reload (one of the really nice features of Opera, imo). I have not yet found how to shift-left click a link and have it come up full screen on IE.

    This doesn't actually pertain to the subject of this thread, except that this is one way you might keep your parameters (shift-click the search button). It works with Opera. I haven't tried it with IE.
     
  12. Mike Frezon

    Mike Frezon Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2001
    Messages:
    35,887
    Likes Received:
    4,570
    Location:
    Rensselaer, NY
    Hi Parker!

    I think what we have here is a failure to communicate! I'm sure its my fault.

     
  13. Rick Radford

    Rick Radford Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2001
    Messages:
    650
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mike,

    I tried to say this in the post above yours, but maybe it got lost in my other question.

    Try the shift-click trick of IE. It will open a new window for you. Do it like this:

    1) Plug your parameters into the first screen but don't click the search button

    2) shift-click the search button for a new screen with the results.

    3) from your task bar, select the first window and refine your search criteria as desired.

    4) do another shift-click on the search button.

    Unless you close one of the search results, you can have all your search results residing on the task bar in separate windows. Again, the way Opera handles this makes it much easier, imo.

    Hope this makes sense and is helpful to you.
     
  14. Parker Clack

    Parker Clack Schizophrenic Man
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1997
    Messages:
    12,220
    Likes Received:
    57
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO
    Real Name:
    Parker
    Mike:

    If I put a link that takes you back using a redirect to the main search page you will still lose all of your data as you have gone through 15 pages. The best way to handle this is to just copy your original search request to your clipboard and then go back to the original start page and past the information in and refine it from there.

    Parker
     
  15. Rick Radford

    Rick Radford Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2001
    Messages:
    650
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, I just assumed that technique would work with IE. IT does NOT! Rats.

    It sure does work nicely with Opera though.

    Sorry!
     

Share This Page