What's new

picture disruption (1 Viewer)

Brad Gatewood

Auditioning
I'm very new to HTF and I'm hoping someone might be able to help me. (I'll try to describe this as well as possible.) Whenever a sudden "bright" scene is encountered my TV picture is disrupted with a flash of lines (noise?).

If you're not sure what I mean by a "bright" scene, an example would be in Monsters Inc. when Boo (the little girl) laughs and causes a power surge in Monstropolis. The combination of the LFE and the sudden brightness of the on-screen electrical surge causes my picture to momentarily be disrupted.

I already reviewed the FAQ page and didn't see anything that specifically addressed this issue.

I have a JBL system - CinemaProPack 600.
http://www.harmanaudio.com/search_br...PROPACK 600-Z

Basically a high-end HTIB that Harmon is trying to get rid of. They are now a couple years old, but has separate components and lots of inputs/outputs on the receiver. I have everything routed thru the JBL A/V receiver - DVD, VCR, satellite receiver - and connected to the TV via S-video. I'm using fairly decent Monster cables for most connections.

Any ideas on why I'm getting this noise in the picture? If I've left out any vital information that might help in diagnosing the problem, please let me know.

Any help is appreciated. Thanks

JamesHl

Supporting Actor
Your tv might have a shoddy power supply, and your contrast level might be too high.

Brad Gatewood

Auditioning
Thanks for the suggestion James. I've checked the contrast level on the tv and its set o.k. As for the power supply, I'm not sure, but I doubt it.

Here's what I was thinking. Feel free to give me your thoughts...

Since all video and audio are routed through the A/V receiver, is it possible that I'm just getting some interference in the video signal whenever there's a sudden surge in the output level? If so, any suggestions on how to correct it.

Any other ideas? :confused: Thanks

JamesHl

Supporting Actor