1. Guest,
    If you need help getting to know Xenforo, please see our guide here. If you have feedback or questions, please post those here.
    Dismiss Notice

Panasonic DMP-BD605 <club version, retail verison is: DMP-BD60>

Discussion in 'Playback Devices' started by DavidEC, May 12, 2009.

  1. DavidEC

    DavidEC Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2001
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    ''_U_P_D_A_T_E_!! See message: http://www.hometheaterforum.com/htf/...ml#post3556954 "

    Brand new Panasonic DMP-BD605 W/ 2GB of 60X SD Memory Installed, Connects to the "NET" just fine as I am able to access the "YouTube" using the "VIERA CAST" feature.

    Discs With Play Back / BD-Live Issues:

    BOLT
    / Disney: The disc will play the promo's & trailers but then it fails back the 'no disc screen', no main playback menu.

    WALL*E
    BEDTIME STORIES
    / Disney: BD-Live not available in my area?? Does not say can not connect or player not compatable??

    BANGKOK DANGEROUS
    PUNISHER: WAR ZONE
    / Lionsgate; MoLog will not load, just get loading screen for over 30 minutes before ejecting disc.

    THE MUMMY III: TOMB OF THE DRAGON EMPEROR,
    HELLBOY II:THE GOLDEN ARMY,
    THE INCREDIBLE HULK(2008)
    WANTED
    / Universal: Does not see the machine as profile 2.0 / BD-Live compatable.

    HANCOCK,
    STRIPPER ZOMBIES
    DON'T MESS WITH ZOHAN
    CASINO ROYALE: COLLECTOR'S EDITION
    / SONY: Can not connect to the Sony BD-Live feature server.

    THE DA VINCI CODE
    / SONY: Can not connect to the Sony BD-Live feature server, But does connect to the new "CineChat" server??

    Working BD-LIVE Disc's:
    BODY OF LIES / Warner Brothers
    FORBIDDEN KINGDOM / Lionsgate; unlike Bangkok MoLog loads?
    THE SPIRIT / Lionsgate; live connection works, but the gadgets are showing wrong city/time, With no user way to set.
    IRONMAN / Paramount
    KUNG FU PANDA / Paramount
    TROPIC THUNDER / Paramount

    I own close to 70 Blu-Ray (and 230 HD-DVD's for playback on a HD20A) disc's but only tested disc's with BD-Live & network connections. I hope that there are not other disc's like "BOLT" in my collection which do not play!

    This Panasonic machine was a store replacement for a "Sony BDP-BX1" which would not access the the BD-LIVE server for "THE DA VINCI CODE" or "KUNG FU PANDA", and Sony wanted me to have to pay shipping for warranty repair when they could not test the machine with the same disc's that I was having troubles with.

    Maybe I have a bad machine?
    But have not found anybody with the same disc's to test from their location.

    --David
     
  2. Ensign Eddie

    Ensign Eddie Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    6
    David,

    I picked up one of these last night at Costco (my dad had a $50 off coupon he got in the mail, making the total cost $229 before tax). Ironically, I got it to replace a Sony 350 that I need to send in for warranty repair.

    I also put in Bolt last night and saw the same behavior. I had to turn off some setting and then I was able to watch the film. Unfortunately, I'm at work and can't remember what the setting I changed was. The film looks wonderful, btw (very underrated).

    I then tried BD-Live on Wall-E and also got the "BD-Live not available in my area" thingy. When I tried to access BD-Live on ST-TOS, it gave the much more helpful notice that I need to add a memory card before it would let me do anything. I am going to try an SD card tonight and see if that clears up things a little more.

    BTW, as far as I can tell, the DMP-BD605 is the same as the DMP-BD60 except the the nameplate and the included HDMI cable (and cheaper price...at least for now).
     
  3. genedjr

    genedjr Agent

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    I bought the DMP-BD60, but have only played a couple of BD disks on it with no issues.

    I would hit the on-line support and list your experiences. It would be interesting to see how Panasonic responds and hopefully how quickly.

    ...gene
     
  4. DavidEC

    DavidEC Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2001
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0

    Online sent me an email telling me to call the tech support center which I call at 15mins till 9pm EST when they close (7:45pm cst), and got a message that the call center was already closed!

    --David
     
  5. Ensign Eddie

    Ensign Eddie Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    6
    Once I put in a 1GB SD card tonight, I was able to update BD-Live on both Bolt and Wall-E. I also did a google search and it seems that the Pannys have a problem with Wall-E, but once you get it updated it seems to work from that point on.

    However, since you stated that you were already using an SD card I don't know what to think about your machine. Unfortunately I don't have any of the other problem disks on your list.
     
  6. DavidEC

    DavidEC Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2001
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    WB, Universal & Sony disc's are all working now..


    I had tried five times to enter in the DNS server that my cable modem used over two days before posting and it never seemed to of fixed the troubles..
    __BUT__
    Tonight I have tested 'WB', Universal & Sony disc's and they are all working.. too tired to test the Disney or LionsGate disc's will test Thursday night after CSI and report back.
    ''_T_H_A_N_K_S_''
    But by chance you don't happen to have an IP address for one of the major DNS servers so I can list it and not rely on my local providers DNS system?

    --David
     

Share This Page