1. Guest,
    If you need help getting to know Xenforo, please see our guide here. If you have feedback or questions, please post those here.
    Dismiss Notice

onkyo ht-s3500 won't output full HD video

Discussion in 'Beginners, General Questions' started by iElessar, Feb 13, 2013.

  1. iElessar

    iElessar New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello. I just got my Onkyo HT-S3500 (ht-r391 receiver) but there is a problem. It does not show any signal with full HD. I have: PS3 Xbox 360 Wii U Blu-Ray Player All are connected to the AV receiver via HDMI. Sound is output fine and I can hear it just fine. However, video does not show if my devices are set to Full HD 1080p. When I configure my Xbox 360, PS3, or Wii U to 480p, I get video signal. However, when I setup them to output 1080p the screen goes black. As for the blu-player, I can't get any video signal since it runs 1080p by default and I cannot configure it with a lower resolution. Even setting them to 720p results in the same issue. And this is the TV I'm using - http://www.lg.com/za/tvs/lg-47LV3710-led-tv What's the problem here? And how can I fix it? Thanks in advance.onkyo ht-s3500 won't output full HD
     
  2. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,038
    Likes Received:
    894
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    Did you unplug everything from the wall before you started unhooking and replugging HDMI? My guess here is you had all this connected to the TV, then you bought the 3500? If so, unhook all your HDMI, unplug everything from the wall. Wait 15-30 minutes... Hook all your HDMI up... Turn on your AVR. Turn on your "sources" Turn on your TV.
     
  3. iElessar

    iElessar New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    True, everything was connected to the TV before I bought this. Unfortunately I wasn't the one doing the installation since I paid for installation and delivery. I'm not sure if everything was shut down or not However it's been a while and ill try what you said, and reply. Thanks a lot.
     
  4. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,038
    Likes Received:
    894
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    You paid for installation of a 3500?????
     
  5. iElessar

    iElessar New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nope, I did pay for delivery. Installation was a free service. I tried what you suggested, still no luck, unfortunately :huh:
     
  6. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,038
    Likes Received:
    894
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    It is possible your is defective. But 99% of the time it is HDCP/handshake causing the problem. Since you get audio and SD, the HDMI is working(and it is "working" in not giving you HD). Call Onkyo and request a warranty repair...and hope it really is broken. If it isn't broken, you are paying shipping both directions and the bench fee.
     
  7. iElessar

    iElessar New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I guess so. Ah I'm covered lol, guy that was installing the system saw that it wasn't working and requested a replacement unit, should be here tomorrow. I'm not in the US, so stuff is a bit different here :D
     

Share This Page