What's new

*** Official 'GHOSTS OF MARS' Discussion Thread (1 Viewer)

Matt Butler

Screenwriter
Real Name
Matt Butler
Anyone see this yet?
I plan to see it Friday as Im a HUGE Carpenter fan.
Just wanted to hear early opinions.

Morgan Jolley

Senior HTF Member
I can't help but laugh when I see a commercial for this movie. Why? I saw a trailer where Natasha Henstridge says "they were found hung and decapitated" which is hilarious in itself. My friends and I were laughing about that for days.

Justin_S

Senior HTF Member
Carpenter is my absolute favorite of all time, so of course I will be seeing this on opening night! This film looks like yet another great Carpenter film to me. I can't wait until Friday!!!

Mark Pfeiffer

Screenwriter
I think the only John Carpenter films I'd seen prior to this were Vampires and whichever Escape From... film was the most recent. Didn't care for either of them. Really didn't like Ghosts of Mars. The characters are so unbelievably dumb, but I guess they needed to get another twenty minutes out of the film (you'll know what I mean when you see it). Then again, fans of this director may have a totally different take...
------------------
Read my reviews at www.dvdmon.com
Most recent reviews: Diary of a Chambermaid: The Criterion Collection, Another Woman, September, Shadows and Fog, Alice, Crimes and Misdemeanors, Gray's Anatomy
Most recent column: One Hundred and Counting

Chris Rein

Stunt Coordinator
Morgan, I hate to be a stickler here, but that line about "the bodies were hung and decapitated" was actually said by Pam Grier. The line would have worked if she said, "...murding 6 rail workers. They were either hung or decapitated." That "either" makes a HUGE difference. Either way, what she said is just dumb. LOL!
Chris

Wes Ray

Supporting Actor