What's new

*** Official CONSTANTINE Discussion Thread (1 Viewer)

Amy Mormino

Supporting Actor
I saw the film yesterday as I'm currently in Seoul, South Korea and the movie has already opened here! I've never read the comic book, so I can't compare, but I think most people will be satisfied with the movie. I agree that it made me want to know more about the comic. The Korean audience seemed to enjoy it as well.

The visual look of the movie is great, especially the scenes set in Hell. The script had a few slack points but was fairly intelligent and depicted Constantine as an ambivalent and fairly dark character. As a former theological student, I thought the movie had a fairly interesting worldview that probably came directly from the comic.

The acting was solid, including Keanu, who actually hasn't given a really terrible performance in years and should be cut some slack. I especially liked Tilda Swinton as the androgynous Gabriel.

Quentin

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Quentin H
Saw it last night...this film, simply, ROCKS.

I liked it a whole lot, and plan on going to see it again on Monday with a director Q&A.

I've only read one Hellblazer graphic novel. Bottom line - this film goes with a different take on Constantine. He's American (Keanu doing what he does best), he does use the auto-crucifix to blow away demons, and some other differences. But, that's ok. You've just got to realize this is not the Constantine of the comics.

The film is very dark and gritty. I'm glad they didn't hold back. All the performances are great - I also like Swinton's Gabriel and Peter Stormare is the BEST Satan on-screen EVER.
The pace is slow and deliberate - something I appreciated. But, there is plenty of action and humor along with the scares.

Just a great movie - really taking this genre to a new level. Heck, maybe making its own sub-genre.

ThomasC

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Thomas