1. Guest,
    If you need help getting to know Xenforo, please see our guide here. If you have feedback or questions, please post those here.
    Dismiss Notice

No sound using coaxial cable

Discussion in 'Beginners, General Questions' started by dstrad, Feb 5, 2013.

  1. dstrad

    dstrad Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello, I just purchased a new flat panel TV and I having a difficult time trying to connect it to my home theater system. Here are my connection: Cable (DVR) box >>> TV, via HDMI TV >>> HTS, via coaxial cable (the TV has coaxial out, the HTS has coaxial in) The connections are very simple but I've been searching through the settings and can't seem to figure it out. The only thing that's working for me is to run RCA cables directly from the cable box to the HTS. The problems here are: - It's not true digital sound - I can't use the TV's built in USB to play music from a flash drive (I could, but I won't hear it through the HTS). Is anyone farmiliar with this issue? Here are my model #'s: TV: Philips model# 50pfl3807/f7 Home Theater System: Panasonic Model# sa-ht40 Thanks
     
  2. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,038
    Likes Received:
    894
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    Why are you running it that way? Didn't you buy the HTS for 5.1?
     
  3. dstrad

    dstrad Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry. Not sure what u mean by 5.1. I bought the HTS about 7 years ago. So im sure there are better options now. I'm just working with what i've got. I figured it out though. (I must've skipped that page in the manual). I had to actually hold down the menu button until the settings appeared, Then scroll through until digital input. It's working great now. Thanks for the reply.
     
  4. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,038
    Likes Received:
    894
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    What I mean is... Your STB should be directly connected to the AVR...the DD is dumbed down to PCM HDMI -> Audio output. You can leave the USB connected for the TV...but to get 5.1 you need a STB direct connection.
     
  5. dstrad

    dstrad Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the insight Schan!
     

Share This Page