What's new

Newbie looking to buy first HDTV (1 Viewer)

Jesse L

Auditioning
Real Name
Jesse Lawson
Hi there — technically I'm not a newbie, as I was registered here some eight years ago, but I can't find my old account (I only posted once or twice, I think). No matter.... I'm looking to purchase my first HD television set after years of watching content on a '90s 27" GE CRT, my laptop, and my parents' 2000 rear-projection Sony (some 70") when I was staying with them. Despite doing a fair amount of research on and off over the past few years, I continue to be baffled by the array of options, so I thought I'd try laying out some of what I'm looking for here and seeing what you folks might be able to tell me. Price: $600 or less feels about right, though I could go as high as $700. Size: 37-47 inches (viewing distance is about 8 feet). What I'm watching: Movies (largely older ones), TV shows, and classic animation on DVD, blu-ray, Netflix streaming and occasionally YouTube. Other components: I'll be hooking up an Oppo BDP-83 and an Apple TV 2, while using an Onkyo sr-705 receiver to handle sound. Desired image: The images on flatscreens are always really garish when I see them in stores, but then I understand that they're set to "torch mode" in order to capture people's attention and compete with all the other light sources. (My Oppo came with a calibration disc I can use to adjust the picture, so presumably that won't be a problem.) That said, I will stress that I am less interested in the really bright digital colors associated with Pixar et al than with a more filmic, analog image that represents things like grain and film texture well. (And while I'd like to see the advanced resolution of blu-ray, it would also be nice if my SD-DVDs still look decent; hopefully the Oppo upconversion helps with that.) Plasma vs. LCD: The overall impression I get is that plasmas have better overall image quality, and given that I don't care about gaming I'm not too worried about bu