1. Guest,
    If you need help getting to know Xenforo, please see our guide here. If you have feedback or questions, please post those here.
    Dismiss Notice

New Toshiba Firmware ver. 2.0 for A3/A30/A35

Discussion in 'Playback Devices' started by Jeff Gatie, Feb 12, 2008.

  1. Jeff Gatie

    Jeff Gatie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    6,531
    Likes Received:
    15
  2. Ron Reda

    Ron Reda Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2001
    Messages:
    2,281
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sweet, I was wondering when the A3 was going to get an update...I don't have mine hooked up via ethernet.

    Thanks, Jeff!
     
  3. Kevin C Brown

    Kevin C Brown Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2000
    Messages:
    5,715
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the heads up. Maybe the last upgrade we get! [​IMG]
     
  4. Ron Reda

    Ron Reda Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2001
    Messages:
    2,281
    Likes Received:
    0
    Here's what it supposedly does:

    Firmware Update Version 2.0

    Applicable Models: HD-A30, HD-A3, HD-D3, and HD-A35.

    Overview: As part of our commitment to provide world-class service to our customers, Toshiba is supplying this firmware update for use by purchasers of the Toshiba HD DVD Player models listed above. This firmware update improves support for 1080p/24Hz and auto mode(for HD-A30 and HD-A35), improves network connectivity for supporting the download of web-enabled network content associated with certain HD DVD discs, and also addresses certain disc playback and HDMI/DVI related issues identified by Toshiba.

    Important Note: Certain HD DVD discs may contain or have the capability of downloading studio-provided, web-enabled network content. To minimize any potential compatibility and/or connectivity issues it is recommended that you perform the firmware update process to ensure that your HD DVD player is using the latest firmware version.

    I think I'm going to wait this one out to hear what it actually does before I go updating my player. Granted, it does glitch on some discs, but only on a handful (and who knows if they will be the "certain discs" they're speaking of). Kind of an "if it ain't broke, don't fix it" thing. I guess I'm just afraid that it'll turn into a brick...

    ***EDIT***

    Jeff,

    Sorry, didn't mean to thread crap...I just wanted to point out that I've read some horrors stories about people's players not handling previous FW updates correctly thereby brickwalling it. I'm not trying to scare people away, just more trying to inform them that the potential risk is there based on others' experiences. Hope I didn't offend you.
     
  5. Ron Reda

    Ron Reda Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2001
    Messages:
    2,281
    Likes Received:
    0
    ^
     
  6. Jeff Gatie

    Jeff Gatie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    6,531
    Likes Received:
    15
    Why would you offend me? I just gave a link, not a recommendation. Although I've personally updated 3 players 6 times and never had a problem, some people are more cautious .
     
  7. Stephen_J_H

    Stephen_J_H All Things Film Junkie
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,532
    Likes Received:
    394
    Location:
    North of the 49th
    Real Name:
    Stephen J. Hill
    I haven't done any firmware updates, as I'm waiting for Toshiba to mail me my update disc, since I don't have an Ethernet connection near my player (my network's wireless; kinda makes you suspect I'd be a PS3 guy but.... no.).
     
  8. Joe Fisher

    Joe Fisher Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2001
    Messages:
    1,379
    Likes Received:
    2
    Real Name:
    Joseph E Fisher

    Hopefully with this update my Shaun of the Dead disc will finally play without any pixelization in the final 8-10 minutes.
     
  9. Yumbo

    Yumbo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 1999
    Messages:
    2,243
    Likes Received:
    0
    American Gangster causes the 408 error still when web connected.
     
  10. Jeff Gatie

    Jeff Gatie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    6,531
    Likes Received:
    15

    Either reinitialize from the General->Maintenence->Initialize menu or clear out the entry for American Gangster in the General->Maintenence->Persistent Storage menu. Sometimes this helps after an update because the persistent storage still has some corrupted stuff in it from the last time you tried to load.
     
  11. Ron Reda

    Ron Reda Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2001
    Messages:
    2,281
    Likes Received:
    0

    OK, cool! Thought what I did might be construed as thread crapping, but apparently not. [​IMG]
     
  12. Gary Seven

    Gary Seven Grand Poo Pah

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003
    Messages:
    1,562
    Likes Received:
    126
    Location:
    Lake Worth, Florida
    Real Name:
    Gaston
    Updated with no problem over ethernet. Kind of funny having a wireless adapter hooked up to a dvd player.

    Good tip regarding the intializing of persistant storage. Thanks Jeff.
     
  13. Ron Reda

    Ron Reda Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2001
    Messages:
    2,281
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gary, what player(s) do you have?
     
  14. donfr

    donfr New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I installed the 2.0 firmware last night on my A30. The upgrade all seemed to go nicely. However, I soon noticed that some of my DVDs, both SD and HD, would cause the player to make a "grinding" sound during the first 7-8 minutes of the disc. It's as if the player was having a hard time tracking the discs during those first minutes. As the player gets past those first few minutes, the sound will gradually decrease to a normal level. Of course, none of this happened with the prior firmware (1.3). The player worked great.

    I called Toshiba, and they said I can only send it back to them for service. And they said that there is no way for me to revert to the earlier firmware. Anyway, be warned about this upgrade.
     
  15. Ron Reda

    Ron Reda Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2001
    Messages:
    2,281
    Likes Received:
    0
    So even if you still have a copy of the old firmware, you can't revert? Ugh...
     
  16. Ron Reda

    Ron Reda Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2001
    Messages:
    2,281
    Likes Received:
    0
    Anyone else updated their firmware? I'm wondering if it's worth it considering how mine actually works somewhat OK right now.
     
  17. Blaine Skerry

    Blaine Skerry Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2001
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    0
    I updated my A3 to 2.0 about a week ago and have played three HD DVD movies with no problems. I had version 1.1 when I bought the player and since updating I really haven't noticed any differences.
     
  18. Gary Seven

    Gary Seven Grand Poo Pah

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003
    Messages:
    1,562
    Likes Received:
    126
    Location:
    Lake Worth, Florida
    Real Name:
    Gaston

    Sorry didn't respond earlier... I didn't see your question.

    I have an A35 and a PS3. A35 has a Linksys adapter hooked up to the ethernet port.
     
  19. Stephen_J_H

    Stephen_J_H All Things Film Junkie
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,532
    Likes Received:
    394
    Location:
    North of the 49th
    Real Name:
    Stephen J. Hill
    Gary, which adapter is that? I have my network set up with USB wireless adapters, but I've never seen one that goes into the Ethernet port. That would be really useful for me (and probably a lot cheaper than running Ethernet over my powerlines with one of THOSE adapters).
     
  20. Gary Seven

    Gary Seven Grand Poo Pah

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003
    Messages:
    1,562
    Likes Received:
    126
    Location:
    Lake Worth, Florida
    Real Name:
    Gaston

Share This Page