1. Guest,
    If you need help getting to know Xenforo, please see our guide here. If you have feedback or questions, please post those here.
    Dismiss Notice

New Toshiba 65H80-have questions

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Jeff Brooks, Jul 24, 2001.

  1. Jeff Brooks

    Jeff Brooks Premium
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2000
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Sugar Hill GA USA
    Real Name:
    Jeff Brooks
    I've had a new Tosh 65H80 for a few days, tuned with VE and Tosh SD6200. I think I have everything set correctly; but, I have a question or two. Saving Private Ryan, (1.85), filled the whole screen, and looked great. I put in Gladiator, (2.35), and it looked great with the expected small bars. I put in Heat, (2.35), and had to adjust the TV setting to TheaterWide to get a widescreen image. DVD player was set to progressive. Is this a DVD problem?
    Also, does this TV not have an over-the-air HDTV tuner? Do I have to get the DST3000 to have any HDTV broadcast? This is all so new to me-Thanks for any help.
     
  2. Roger Clark

    Roger Clark Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 1999
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    HEAT, sounds like you put the disk in on the pan&scan side. Look at the disk, is it two sided? I've rented it before and had no trouble, but don't remember if it had both formats or not.
    HDTV tuner, no it doesn't have one. Yes, you can buy the DST3000 or any of the set top SAT/HDTV or just HDTV decoders that will output to the component inputs on your TV.
    Roger
    ------------------
    System: B&K AVR307, Toshiba TW65H80 RPTV, Sony DVP-S9000ES DVD, JVC HR-5400U SVHS
    Philips CDR880 CDR, Sony SAT-HD100 & B50 DBS, Phase Linear 8000 Turntable
    Polk RT2000P mains, Polk CS350 Center, Polk LS/FX Surrounds
    Sunfire Signature True Subwoofer, Pronto Remote
     
  3. Steve_D

    Steve_D Second Unit

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 1999
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    0
    Your DVD player should have a setting for the type of TV you have. Set it to 16:9
    Yes, you still need an HDTV receiver to receive HDTV. Not to mention an antenna, and/or an HDTV dish, and/or maybe cable if you are one of the lucky few to have a cable operator passing along HDTV channels.
    ------------------
    http://www.sdiver.org
     

Share This Page