1. Guest,
    If you need help getting to know Xenforo, please see our guide here. If you have feedback or questions, please post those here.
    Dismiss Notice

New to satellite, question about basic cable/sat mix

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Chuck Paskovics, Aug 16, 2002.

  1. Chuck Paskovics

    Chuck Paskovics Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2002
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've got my satellite hooked up now. I still have basic cable for my local channels. My question: Is there any way to run basic cable through my satellite receiver and view the channels through the receiver? I noticed it has a normal 'coax in' option on the back of the receiver (RCA dolby digital model). It would be nice if you could get the satellite receiver to recognize some of the local channels and view them through the receiver instead of having to flip to another input to view them. Since all the channels below 100 are not used for satellite can you program them somehow by running your cable to that coax input?
     
  2. NickSo

    NickSo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2000
    Messages:
    4,274
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm not 100% sure, but with my Bell ExpressVu Echostar 2700 reciever, theres an RF input on the back. If you could somehow hook up the cable thru a VCR, or cablebox or something, and have it output at channel 3/4, then you hook it up to the RF/Antenna input on the back. Then you can switch it form TV/Video. But it only works on the Coax OUTPUT on my reciever and not the Composite or Svideo
     
  3. Pete Jennings

    Pete Jennings Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 1999
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    0
    You normally have to have a higher end satellite receiver to do this. My Dish 6000 integrates my OTA (over the air) channels into my regular program guide. It even pulls down programming data from the Dish Network satellite for some of those cahnels! It will do the same for cable channels. Some of the higher end DirecTV boxes will do the same. I believe that the boxes that are capable of doing this are all High Definition capable.

    Good luck!

    Pete
     

Share This Page