What's new

new to HT just purchased some equipment (1 Viewer)

Hi I'm new to the HT hobby. I have been listening to movies my whole life on dated equipment and cheep speakers. The receiver is over 30 years old purchased by my dad. The speakers are about 10-12 years old and we purchased them at radio shack on sale. They were $250 for a 12" sub and two 3.25" bookshelf speakers. They did add to the movie by having speakers in front of the audience but it still didn’t quite sound good enough.

I have always liked a well set up sound system, and working at a place that sold high end home stereo equipment just rose the bar. This past weekend I was X-mas shopping with my mom and showed her around good guys. She told me that she would get me a receiver. I picked out an RXV-630 that was on a 1/2 price sale. While down at GG I went into the sound room and listened to some of the floor speakers. I settled on the RF-25 along with an RW-12 subwoofer, and an RC-25 center channel. I though that these components would be adequate for my taste and be within my budget. I am a college student so money is something that needs to be watched.

Now for my questions. Will my receiver be able to adequately power the system(Yamaha RXV630)? Any recommendations on brands that I should look out for in the future when getting something? Is their a certain brand that works better with the klipsch line of speakers? The receiver has 75 watts per channel and my front speakers have an RMS rating of 125 watts. I'm not worried about the sub because it has its own amp. Will I be able to purchase the extended warranty after I get the system home? I was told that if I got a warranty on anything it should be one the subwoofer because the amp is the main thing that will go out. Any truth to this?