1. Guest,
    If you need help getting to know Xenforo, please see our guide here. If you have feedback or questions, please post those here.
    Dismiss Notice

New cam

Discussion in 'Photography' started by McPaul, May 19, 2006.

1. McPaul

McPaul Well-Known Member

Paul M
    I just bought a Panasonic DMC-FX01 today and first use will be this weekend to take to a wedding...

I bought it because it's small, and offers 28mm lens, those are the two big reasons. Having optical image stabilizer and a 4x zoom are big plusses.

Oh, another plus, they gave me a printer to go with it. I've never printed out any pictures before, but I'll give it a try when I get home. It's the HP Deskjet 5940. Is this a decent model?

I've heard this cam produces a lot of noise, esp. on higher ISO settings, however I'm not so sure I will notice it.

I understand that camera noise can be photoshopped out. Is this an easy process that produces quality results? I've never used Photoshop before.

I've got a 2G SD card that's just waiting to be filled!!

2. Scott Merryfield

Supporter

Sounds like a nice camera, Paul. I think you will really like the image stabilization (assuming Panasonic implemented it correctly).

Just yesterday I received my first image stabilization lens for the Canon Digital Rebel XT dSLR that I bought a couple months ago. This is a 70-300mm Canon telephoto, and I was amazed at the pictures I was able to take handheld at dusk last night.

3. Bryan X

Bryan X Well-Known Member

I bought the Rebel XT recently too, Scott. I got the 17-85mm IS lens with it. IS is really nice. I was looking for a second lens for more reach and was really interested in the 70-300 IS you have. But decided against it because of the focusing issue Canon is adressing with the recall. Have you noticed the problem much on yours?

I ended up getting the 70-200mm f/4 L. Excellent image quality, but the IS would have been nice. I'm not real steady at 200mm.

4. ManW_TheUncool