1. Guest,
    If you need help getting to know Xenforo, please see our guide here. If you have feedback or questions, please post those here.
    Dismiss Notice

Need some help.

Discussion in 'Beginners, General Questions' started by HowardPM, Oct 12, 2003.

  1. HowardPM

    HowardPM Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2002
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Real Name:
    Howard
    I finally decided to use my rec. like your suppose to. So I connected the Component Cables From the HDTV cable box to the TV IN on the receiver, then component Cables from the Reciever (Monitor Out) to the TV. Now when I turn on the TV, the screen is all screwed up. kinda like I'm seeing 3 parts of the show in random spots and they moving all around.


    If I plug the Components directly from the Cable box to the TV it looks fine. Any suggestions?


    By the way I'll have many more questions once I get this working.

    Thanks

    Howard
     
  2. Glenn Overholt

    Glenn Overholt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 1999
    Messages:
    4,207
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi there! The 3 component cables from the CATV box must go into a component 'in' on your receiver. I think you plugged them into the L/R audio and yellow composite sockets.

    Glenn
     
  3. HowardPM

    HowardPM Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2002
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Real Name:
    Howard
    I gave up on that I just went directly into the tv. works fine now. Thanks
     
  4. ChrisWiggles

    ChrisWiggles Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    4,791
    Likes Received:
    1
    and to clear things up, too:



    You're not *supposed* to go through the receiver at all. Purists would recommend NOT going through the receiver, as it's another set of wires and switching in the path. The only point of going through the receiver is to accomplish video switching and/or simplicity. If it is just as easy for you to go directly to your display (and you don't have more things to connect than inputs on your display), then it's best to go directly to the display, and not through the receiver or any other video switching device(video processors not included, of course).
     
  5. Bob McElfresh

    Bob McElfresh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 1999
    Messages:
    5,183
    Likes Received:
    0
    Also note that just because a receiver has component switching, component does not mean it will handle the higher-frequency HDTV video signals:

    Component Video (480i) max frequency: 4 Mhz
    Progressive Video (480p) max frequency: 12 mhz
    HD Video (1080i) max frequency: 35 mhz

    This is why you should go direct from source to TV with a HD system.

    if you run out of inputs, there is a "Inexpensive HD Video Switching" thread in the receivers section that discusses several $100-$150 switch box's (and several cheaper alternatives).
     

Share This Page