What's new

Need help w/ car audio (1 Viewer)

Shawn.G

Second Unit
I am getting my car tomorrow, a 1997 Ford Explorer XLT, and I am looking to get either a cd player or 2 speakers, and when I get a summer job I will buy the subs. But now I have to find which cd player and speakers will fit my Explorer. Can someone tell me or give me a link to a car audio forum that will tell me what fits and which are the best to buy? I am new to car audio and need some help from someone who knows what they're talking about. Thanks.

Cam S

Screenwriter
Crutchfield.com has a good system to match speakers and head units with what fits in your specific car/truck, give their site a try.

Shawn.G

Second Unit
I tried Crutchfield, but for the speakers they gave me both oval and circle fitting speakers. I'll try agian, but in the mean time what is a good car audio forum?

Marshall Alsup

Second Unit
www.caraudioforum.com :D

You answered your own question. But seriously, its a great site, I consider it the HTF of the car audio world. They are a little hardcore, but like here, they're always willing to help a new guy.

later,
Marshall

Scott L

Senior HTF Member
If you've never installed a cd receiver before I'd recommend to get it straight from Crutchfield. They charge retail but they include wiring harnesses for free and detailed illustrated instructions on how to install the player. The same goes for speeakers.

Plus they arguably have the best customer service in the world! :)

Bargain sites:
www.ikesound.com
Link Removed
www.carmedia1.com

DarrenH

Agent
Hi Shawn,