What's new

need help settin up new theatre room (1 Viewer)

odessaericjones

Auditioning
Real Name
eric jones
I have never set up a media room before so I wanted to see what yall thought of my choices. I am getting 3 definitive technology UWI 75 speakers for my center and front channels. I am gettin 4 definitive technology UWI BP/A speakers for my side and rear speaker channels. My sub is gonna be the definitive technology supercube 2000. For my projector and screen I am gonna get the Epson 8350 with a 100" black diamond sceen. Just wanted to get yalls thoughts cause I am totally new at this.

Robert_J

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Robert
Have you auditioned the Def Techs? Quality company that makes quality speakers and average subs. You can get a better performing sub for the price of the Def Tech if you go with an internet direct company.

As far as screens go, I couldn't spend the money one one. I built a 103" screen for about $75 and it turned out excellent. Been using it for 5 years. Looks just as good as the ones I auditioned in the stores.

winniw

Second Unit
Real Name
Nick Reed
I believe that Black Diamond screens are made for high ambient light environments. Is your media room going to be well lit when you are using your projector? If not, I don't know if a Black Diamond would be the best choice for a darkened room. Perhaps someone else can answer this.

I have an 8350 and it's a good first projector. However, if I had it to do over, I would spend the extra and go with the 8700 for the better blacks, power zoom & focus and other nice little features... but that would be my second projector then... wouldn't it?

The SuperCube 2000 would be okay for a small room, especially if you are trying to keep a clean, invisible look. I don't want to talk you out of it because this really sounds like a "lifestyle" system and the 2000 may be just what you need. Will your source let you trade up if the 2000 is not enough sub for you?