What's new

Need help on deciding what home theater to purchase or what configuration for building one (1 Viewer)

DanDu

Auditioning
Real Name
Dan
Hi all I am new to the home theater. For years I told myself that someday I would buy a Bose system because it was top of the line. Now after visiting several forums I am not so sure that Bose would be the best system to get. I am looking for a good 5.1 system in which will be used mainly for movies and music. I would like to get small cube like speakers that I can hang on a wall. The size of the room is 12 x 25 My budget is about 1500. Any advice you can give me would help. Thanks Dan

Steve Tannehill

R.I.P - 4.28.2015
Senior HTF Member
Deceased Member
Real Name
Steve Tannehill
Hi Dan, welcome to HTF! I can't answer your question about receivers, but my friends who bought Jamo speakers were quite pleased with them. You are definitely right to question Bose.

schan1269

HTF Expert
HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Sam
To narrow down the choice of AVR, it would help to know what sources you have... VCR/Wii? DVD/BD? CD/Ipod/Ipad? Do you stream? Which platforms? There are a few specific on-wall speakers, the only ones I can come up with the fit the budget are Polk(Axiom and KEF make some but they'd cover your entire budget w/o sub or AVR). Polk on-wall have OW in the model number.

DanDu

Auditioning
Real Name
Dan
Thanks for replying. I am currently looking at the Panasonic DMP-BDT220 3D Blu-ray Disc player. I did a lot of research on it and it had mixed reviews but mostly good. I like the fact that it has wifi in which I could connect directly to youtube or whatever for music or to stream movies etc. I did some looking at the polk audio and seen that I can get a [sw111 subwoofer and tl350 satellite speakers for around 700 to 800 bucks on ebay new. So if those combinations work out good, I would just need a good receiver. Thanks again for replying Dan

schan1269

HTF Expert
HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Sam