1. Guest,
    If you need help getting to know Xenforo, please see our guide here. If you have feedback or questions, please post those here.
    Dismiss Notice

Need help choosing DIY kit for centre & fronts.

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Boris, Jan 22, 2002.

1. Boris

Boris Member

Hi
    I'd like to upgrade my commercial speakers with DIY efforts. I'll be starting with the centre, then the fronts and then eventually the surrounds.
    I'd like some advise please regarding which kit to go for.
    I've limited DIY knowledge and skills so it has to be a full kit (the only project I've ever done was a Shiva sub, that went well![​IMG])
    Unfortunately, here in the UK the DIY choice is small, unless I've been looking in the wrong places.
    I was originally looking at these for LCR duties, but I've read that a MTM on it's side is a poor off axis performer.
    So now I'm considering this for the centre and these for fronts and then eventually surrounds.
    Now these two kits are basically the same, same enclosure, same mid/bass but different tweeter. Would that be a problem regarding timbre??? The guy at IPL said it wouldn't. [​IMG]
    I'd really appreciate some input and redirection if necessary.
    Thanks
    Boris

2. Brian J Dupuis

Brian J Dupuis Well-Known Member

Hi Boris,
    I don't have much advice for you, as I'm in precisely the same situation as you regarding which center and main design to use (though I will most likely be building it myself... I'm a sucker for punishment [​IMG]). I'm writing to say that your links appear to have an extra '/' character at the end which causes them to fail. Might want to edit them and remove that character.
    Good luck in your search!

3. Boris

Boris Member

Thanks Brian

4. Jon Hancock

Jon Hancock Well-Known Member