1. Guest,
    If you need help getting to know Xenforo, please see our guide here. If you have feedback or questions, please post those here.
    Dismiss Notice

My Sony Tivo is blind

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Bob Kavanaugh, Mar 18, 2003.

  1. Bob Kavanaugh

    Bob Kavanaugh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a Sony SVR-2000 and unless you aim the remote right at the sensor, it won't see the signal. I know the remote is powerful enough, because I use it to turn my TV on and off as well as volume control for my receiver. My other components respond no matter where you aim the remote.

    Does anybody know how to increase the sensitivity of the tivo or any other "tweaks" to get the thing to respond to the remote. Oh, and this appears to be the norm for the SVR-2000, as my friend's tivo behaves exactly the same way. Thanks
     
  2. Michael Reuben

    Michael Reuben Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 1998
    Messages:
    21,769
    Likes Received:
    2
    My old Sony 2000 had the same behavior. It worked much better when I switched to a universal remote (the MX-500) with a much stronger signal. That's the only thing I can suggest.

    M.
     
  3. LDfan

    LDfan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 1998
    Messages:
    724
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mine was acting up a while back in which it had a bad lag time or i would have to continually hit a button(s) for it to do anything. I changed the batteries in the remote and now it works great.


    Jeff
     
  4. Bill_D

    Bill_D Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2001
    Messages:
    756
    Likes Received:
    0
    Like Jeff, mine only acts like that when the batteries need changing.
     
  5. Bob Kavanaugh

    Bob Kavanaugh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, I hope that is the problem. I will feel foolish if that is the case.

    It still seems funny that I can use the same remote (the mute, power, and volume buttons control my tv) to control the tv and I can point it anywhere and it still works. This is what made me think the Tivo was to blame.

    I'll try my friends Pronto tonight, as well as mine with new batteries, and report my findings. Thanks for your help.
     
  6. Bob Kavanaugh

    Bob Kavanaugh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK... My buddies pronto worked it great, no matter where you point. New batteries in my Tivo remote made no difference. Ugh... I was thinking about buying a Pronto but now I guess I will. Thanks fellas.
     

Share This Page