1. Guest,
    If you need help getting to know Xenforo, please see our guide here. If you have feedback or questions, please post those here.
    Dismiss Notice

my IE has me confused. can anyone explain this to me?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by TonyD, Apr 3, 2002.

  1. TonyD

    TonyD Who do we think I am?

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 1999
    Messages:
    16,851
    Likes Received:
    280
    Location:
    Disney World and Universal Florida
    Real Name:
    Tony D.
    it doesnt always happen but sometimes when i open an ei ver. 6 browser it will take forever t load. until i open my aol program then ie browser will pop right on like it is supposed to.

    i have cable internet so it shouldnt need aol for anything.

    so do i have a setting somewere that is not reading the cable access?

    also when i get an error when trying to close a window my windows xp shows a window to send the error to microsoft but when it checks for the connection it just sits there until i cancel sending the error. so it seems that sometimes ie cant find my internet cable.

    help.
     
  2. MikeAlletto

    MikeAlletto Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2000
    Messages:
    2,371
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'd check your proxy settings...maybe it thinks there should be one when there shouldn't be.
     
  3. TonyD

    TonyD Who do we think I am?

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 1999
    Messages:
    16,851
    Likes Received:
    280
    Location:
    Disney World and Universal Florida
    Real Name:
    Tony D.
    well maybe but i'm not savvy in this type of thing so thats why i hope someone can give me a for dummies version of what to check [​IMG]
     
  4. TonyD

    TonyD Who do we think I am?

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 1999
    Messages:
    16,851
    Likes Received:
    280
    Location:
    Disney World and Universal Florida
    Real Name:
    Tony D.
    no thoughts on this?
     
  5. Chad Ellinger

    Chad Ellinger Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2000
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    0
    Under Tools / Internet Options in IE, click the setup button. A wizard will pop up asking you a bunch of questions. Make sure you say that you are connected to a LAN, and check "Automatic Proxy Detection" when it asks. That should fix your problem.
     

Share This Page