What's new

My blank canvas and plan comments and advice welcomed and needed (1 Viewer)

prcmike

Auditioning
Real Name
Mike Koop
Hi All,

Here is a photo of the room I have set aside for the HT. It's only small (9' X 15 1/2') and I hope not too small for what I plan which I shall describe below. This is my first attempt so all comments and advice are welcomed and needed:

Attachment 1373

We are in China where all walls are concrete columns and beams with solid brick infills. Walls are a solid about 1 foot thick. The window is not required as I do not need ambient light. Also it is in an external wall so I am planning to simply build my sheetrock wall inside and across the window opening. The door in the photo leads to a small boiler room which contains 3 instantaneous water heaters. This door is in what shall be the front wall of the HT.

Next is my plan view of the room. Please note that dimensions are in millimeters:

Attachment 1374

I am planning a floating floor throughout with sheetrock walls all round insulated with glass fibre. At the front wall there is a stage 7" above the floor. A built in cabinet is proposed to fill the entire front wall. This cabinet shall house a Samsung HDTV 50" flat screen for normal TV viewing, front, center and sub speakers (Bose Acoustimass 16 Series II), Onkyo TX SR 706 receiver, a small bar fridge and a DVD and CD library. I am planning to have a 100" screen drop down 2" in front of the cabinet for rear projected movie viewing. The door to the boiler room will be disguised as part of the cabinet. A detail of the cabinet elevation is shown later. Two rows of seats are hoped for with the second row of seats being about 10" higher than the first. The front viewing position is about 6' from the screen with the rear at about 11' from the screen. Is the front row too close for a 100" screen?

Next is a detail elevation of the front wall cabinet:

Attachment 1375