What's new

MS IE version 8 . . . well? (1 Viewer)

Dennis Nicholls

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Dennis
Sometimes you get what you pay for...

IE version 8 is up on the MS site for download now. IIUC this is the final release version, not a beta.

Any thought so far from any users? Or should I wait until several patches are available first?

dberthia

Stunt Coordinator
Real Name
Dave
As a web developer, I strongly encourage you to ditch IE unless it's your only choice. In my opinion, IE is the single biggest roadblock to true innovation on the web. If you have to use IE, at least upgrade to version 8 since it's stable, and is the most standards-compliant version yet.

To steal a quote from another message board:

Clinton McClure

Rocket Science Department
Premium
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Clint
I can't remember the last time I used IE for anything other than work-related tasks (company intranet and time-keeping functions use a web-based application which is not compatible with Firefox or Opera). Other than that, I ditched IE back in the days of Netscape Communicator.

Adam Lenhardt

Senior HTF Member
I've been installing it on the computers used be people who are loyal to IE. I never liked IE7 (still keep IE6 as my backup to Firefox on my own machines), and IE8 steps back a bit from the minimal GUI at all costs philosophy of IE7. The restoration of a proper links bar is a huge plus, for instance. There's also quite a few new features that I haven't seen anywhere else yet, at least not outside of plug-ins. I'm comfortable with my routine on Firefox, so it'd take a lot fo rme to switch back.

dberthia

Stunt Coordinator
Real Name
Dave
It would take a lot for me to switch from Firefox, but if I do, it's likely to be for Google Chrome. It looks inviting, especially if they can get a plug-in system in place and an ad blocking extension.

Dennis Nicholls

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Dennis