What's new

Mission M74 (1 Viewer)

Ryan Cruz

Stunt Coordinator
Anyone audition these yet? They're pretty new and don't have reviews yet online.

Yee-Ming

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Yee Ming Lim
I haven't, but I've seen many reviews in UK magazines.
the short one-line summary from What Hi-Fi (May 2002 issue) says "Almost impossible to fault at this price -- a near perfect blend of scale and cohesion." price being 300 pounds. 5 stars out of 5.
the one-liner from Home Entertainment (April 2002) says "A lot of speaker for the money; fine for blockbusters, loses its grip with music." 4 stars out of 5
any help? I'm not sure what to make of it myself, being tin-eared and all. a friend has the m74s as part of his hi-fi (should I say mid-fi?) system, and I've wanted to have a listen; if I do I'll post my views, but remember I'm a tin-eared newbie... :D

Ryan Cruz

Stunt Coordinator
Sure. thanks for the help if you know of any online links to those articles please post them.
thanks again ;)

Yee-Ming

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Yee Ming Lim
www.hifichoice.co.uk has this review:-
m74 review
there's a different review in the May 2002 issue of Hi-Fi Choice, where they conducted a Bench Test of 8 speakers in the 300-600 pound range. FWIW, the others were Acoustic Energey Aespirit 300, Arcaydis AKF, B&W DM602.5 S3, Castle Durham 3, JBL Xti 80, JMLab Chorus 715 and Tannoy Eyris 1.
I'll skip the preamble discussing build and finish, type Sound Quality and Conclusion:-
"SOUND QUALITY
The listening tests here gave rather contrary results between two different presentations, perhaps reflecting the underlying contrast between this model and the group norm.
On the one hand there's definitely a touch of boom 'n' tizz about this speaker, thanks to the combination of a full, deep bass with a treble that's definitely brighter than most, relatively sepaking. The result is an impressively wide-bandwidth sound, with ample headroom and bags of weight, scale and sparkle.