What's new

Micro Budget Home Theater (1 Viewer)

CollinTiegs

Auditioning
Ok, I'm a poor college student, I want to start building a home theater. One step at a time. I think ill start with
the audio since video technology is moving along at such a rapid pace I would hate to invest in a new TV justt yet.

Here is what I've got on hand right now.

Audio:
1. Two tower speakers by paradigm.
2. A center speaker made by KLH.
3. Two KLH surrond speakers.
4. A KLH sub.
5. One of those cheap all in one system stereo things I got when I was younger.
6. A pair of grado SR60 headphones.

Video:
1. A TV that looks like it might have been cutting edge way back in the late 70's early 80's.
2. An extra 17inch CRT monitor that i currently connect my iBook to in order to play dvd's.(audio is supplied via
the sr60's)
3. An Apple Ibook (which is only kinda video.)
4. A PC, sporting a geforce 4 ti4200 with s-video out.

I have pictures of all the gear but I cant post them yet.

My plan is this:
Purchase a reciver that will be able to amp up speakers well enough that I wont have to replace it any time soon.
After that pick up a set of really nice well made speakers, something that has the build quillity to last quite some
time. I really like the idea of buying equipment once and having it last forever simply because it was designed
right in the first place. Once audio is out of the way I will obviously have to update the tv. However that seems
pricy so ill leave that for last. Oh and I'll have to get a DVD player somewhere in there.

What do you think would be the best course of action? Any recomendations on recivers, or speakers would be great.

Bill_Wil

Stunt Coordinator
Collin,