What's new

Low cost options? (1 Viewer)

jr9303

Auditioning
Real Name
Steven
Hello

I'm a student will soon be moving into an apartment to start college life. I would like to have some sort of sound system for playing music as well as listening to tv . Unfortunately I only have 200$ - 300 tops to spend on the whole system. Built in dvd would be nice but not completely needed would also enjoy an ipod dock but again not completely needed

What can you guys suggest?

Remember this is a small space... I will sue it to listen to music in the living room dining room and kitchen... combined this area is less than 500 square feet.

Thank you!

Steven

AudioENG

Stunt Coordinator
Real Name
Tim
How about one of these:
http://www.bestbuy.com/site/olspage.jsp?_dyncharset=ISO-8859-1&_dynSessConf=8350361279861263585&id=abcat0202002&type=category&usc=abcat0200000&cp=1&sp=-currentprice+skuid&nrp=25&qp=crootcategoryid%23%23-1%23%23-1%7E%7Eq70726f63657373696e6774696d653a3e313930302d30312d3031%7E%7Ecabcat0200000%23%230%23%23p1%7E%7Ecabcat0202000%23%230%23%231r%7E%7Encabcat0202002%23%230%23%23m&pagetype=listing

I like the sony mini systems, they're compact but have pretty good sound for the price. The MHCEC79i has an i pod dock and is a reasonable price. It'd be hard to find something else without spending a lot more money that would sound a lot better. Also this would leave you plenty of money to buy a seperate dvd player. It looks like it also has an input for TV sound. You would need to use something like this to hook up from the tv to the stereo system.

http://www.bestbuy.com/site/olspage.jsp?skuId=9222352&st=stereo+mini+to+rca&lp=1&type=product&cp=1&id=1218062425208

Or you could spend closer to your $300 max and get an all in one dvd home theater system.
http://www.bestbuy.com/site/olspage.jsp?id=pcmcat167300050040&type=category