What's new

LED DLP vs. Plasma? (1 Viewer)

AaronMK

Supporting Actor
Real Name
Aaron Karp
I am trying to decide on a TV purchase. Right now it is coming down to the LED DLP vs. Plasma question. In short, the LED DLP is a much better screen size value, but I'm wondering if I would not be better off with a plasma display since I don't sit that far away (7' at most, and would move sofa closer for a smaller display).

The big decision is between a smaller plasma (42" Panasonic TH-42PZ77U) or a slightly more expensive LED DLP (56" Samsung HL-T5687S). Models came from budget and reviews (online and Consumer Reports)

The TV will be used for Wii and PS3 (games, DVD, and Blu-ray). I have made 1080p a requirement because I noticed the difference on blu-ray playback, and that is the main reason for wanting a new TV.

More specific questions:
1) For the plasma: I have had my CRT for nine years and never experienced image retention. That is based on mostly watching widescreen movies (ie black bars). Is this a good indication that image retention will not be an issue for me with a plasma?

2) For the LED DLP, is bulb life a real issue? Is that 20,000 hours in the specs the actual viewing time I should expect before having to replace the bulb and what do they usually go for?

3) Anything else I should be factoring in.

Thanks for the assistance!

Doug_H

Supporting Actor
Aaron

If you play a lot of games you will want to avoid the Plasma because of burn in. They have gotten a lot better in that regard but still have issues.

The 20,000 hours is the expected life of the bulb, I am not sure of replacement cost though. These have not been out that long.

I have a 42" plasma in the living room now and I wish every day I had gone with a 56" DLP.

JustMe

Auditioning
Real Name
Leon Cunningham
Size Matters, I have a 56 in DLP and wish I had gone bigger.

Jon Lidolt

Stunt Coordinator
Real Name
Jon Lidolt