What's new

KP-46WT510-progressive signal from DVD looks worse (1 Viewer)

Tony-C

Auditioning
Hello there,
Brand new newbie here. I just recently purchased a KP-46WT510 TV and a SLV-D300P combvo DVD/VCR player. After hooking up the player to the TV via component connection, I noticed that the picture using the player's progressive signal output was not as good looking as viewing the picture interlaced from the player and using the CineMotion 3:2 pulldown mode on the TV. Using the progressive signal, the picture looked more blocky and the colors weren't as vibrant. If this has been covered before, I'd be great if you could link me to the appropriate thread and/or FAQ. Thanks in advance for any input and advice!
-Tony

nick_rh

Stunt Coordinator
Your TV is better at progressive-scanning than the DVD player is. I don't know what brand your DVD is, but if it's a combination DVD/VCR, it's probably got a pretty cheap progressive-scanner (aka line doubler). You can keep it on interlaced, or get a superior DVD player (check the A/V Sources forum for opinions on those...I just got a Pioneer 563A which definitely seems to provide a better progressive scan picture than my Panasonic PT-47WX53 does on its own, plus it retails for about $150 and can do DVD-A and SACD...pretty good deal!).

Tony-C

Auditioning
Thanks for the response Nick. Both the TV and the player are Sony. The wife wanted one of those combo players so we wouldn't have so much 'stuff' in our entertainment center. She let me get the TV so I got what she wanted! :)
-Tony

Steve Schaffer

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Steve Schaffer
Tony,