1. Guest,
    If you need help getting to know Xenforo, please see our guide here. If you have feedback or questions, please post those here.
    Dismiss Notice

KH pink noise test tones

Discussion in 'AV Receivers' started by AndrewErickson, Jan 23, 2004.

  1. AndrewErickson

    AndrewErickson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2003
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have an AVR 325. What supposed be the sound output in dB when I set the master volume at -15 dB and calibrate to the internal pink noise test tones? I think I read somewhere that the speakers are supposed to put out 75 dB when the master is set at -15. Can anyone verify this?
     
  2. MichaelDDD

    MichaelDDD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2003
    Messages:
    616
    Likes Received:
    0
    Real Name:
    Mike
    Not familiar w/your receiver, but what those instructions probably mean is that when the channels have been properly calibrated (i.e. w/a SPL meter and test tones) they should read 75db at -15db volume.

    You do have an SPL meter, right? The Radio Shack one with the analog VU meter is the preferable one. [​IMG]

    All speakers are different. Even different receivers with the same manufacturer/model number can be slightly different. You need to calibrate all 5/7 of your channels first. Then tweak.
     
  3. AndrewErickson

    AndrewErickson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2003
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, I have the RS meter. I have to put my fronts at +9 dB to get 75 dB out of them at a master volume of -15 dB. That seems pretty high to me considering the speakers have a 89 dB sensitivity.
     
  4. MichaelDDD

    MichaelDDD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2003
    Messages:
    616
    Likes Received:
    0
    Real Name:
    Mike
    What gauge speaker wire are you using and do you have any other kind of "processing" applied already?

    Is there a way for you to completely reset your receiver to factory specs and start over?
     
  5. AndrewErickson

    AndrewErickson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2003
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    14 gauge wire. This is setting the receiver on logic 7 5.1

    No need to reset the receiver because nothing else if affecting the channel setup.

    I will call HK to get my answer. Thanks for your help!
     

Share This Page