What's new

Just how bad are the Little House On The Prarie sets? (1 Viewer)

Paul_Scott

Senior HTF Member
was never a fan of the show, but i caught the first series ep over the holidays on TVLand and really enjoyed it and realized how much i've been craving entertainment that is more spiritually nutritous or uplifting.
of course i hated the show as a kid so i have no previous experience with it in depth.

i say that because i was reading reviews over on Amazon that mention the episodes on the dvd sets are butchered.
for fans of the show is it worth picking these up at all now?
how much material is generally cut per ep-if you don't know whats missing are you going to miss it? and how is the A/V quality aside from that?
also is the first season a strong one?

Allison

Auditioning
I haven't even bothered to pick up the LHOTP sets because the first...I think two season sets aren't captioned. :angry: I am hearing impaired, by the way, and I depend on captioning to enjoy a TV program. The later seasons are captioned, but it's not very fair to me that the first few aren't captioned. :thumbsdown:

Jeremy Stockwell

Supporting Actor
We have the 9 seasons that are available on DVD.

My main beef with them is the packaging. 6 discs per season in thin-paks that you have to fold all the way out to access them.

Other than that, I haven't had any problems with these sets. To me, episode for episode, Season 1 is probably one of the strongest seasons for the series.

I honestly didn't know that any of them were captioned.

I am also unaware if the episodes are edited in anyway.

JKS

Greg_S_H

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Greg
I sort of forgive them the mistakes of the first two seasons, as I believe that was Imavision's first major DVD release. They were quick to address most of the issues. The two specific problems were:

No title sequence on most episodes
No captioning