What's new

Joining the ranks of Home Baristas! Meet my new Rancilio Silvia (aka Goodbye Starbucks!) (1 Viewer)

Carlo_M

Senior HTF Member
A little history re: my coffee journey. Years ago (like 16) as a college student I used to work at a small coffeehouse to help pay for school. Now that cafe was nothing like the bourgeois places you see now, like Intelligentsia Coffee. I love their espresso drinks, but I like about 7 miles away from their Venice location and 10 from their Silver Lake location. In Los Angeles, that's a no-go unless it's off-peak hours.
So I go to The Coffee Bean for my morning caffeine fix on my way to work. The problem is that I ordered very sugary drinks (mocha latte) which had like 1/3 cup of their powder which was mostly sugar per drink. This also masked the taste of the espresso, but I'll be damned if that sugary powder wasn't delicious!
Recently I decided to drastically added sugars out of my diet so I stopped getting my mocha latte. I started going to places like Intelligentsia, Coffee Tomo (West L.A.) and Profeta Westwood which are more upscale coffeehouses that take great pride in getting great roasted beans, making great espressos, and creating some great latte art. I've begun to drink more cappuccino style drinks, which for me means very little sugar (usually just a demitasse spoon of sugar) and less milk than a latte, so I'm getting closer to the taste of the espresso.