What's new

jl audio 10" w0 8ohm (1 Viewer)

PATONDALOOSE

Auditioning
Real Name
BRYCE
im new to this stuff i recently bought a pair of jl audio 10" w0 subs in the listing it said they were a 8ohm. when ever i look up amps they only rate a 2ohm and 4ohm. can this sub be wired up as an 4ohm or 2ohm? also what type of 5 channel amp would i need to power these subs

Real Name
Dustin
if you are looking at a 5 channel amp, i am assuming you are meaning to run your speakers off the 4 channels and these subs off the sub channel... you definately dont need a 5 channel amp for 2 subs...

Now as far as the impendance(ohm's rating)... they are single coil subs and rated at 8 ohms each... meaning if you wire them in parallel, you will be presenting a 4 ohm load to the amp. If i remember correctly, those subs in particular want about 125Watts RMS each... so an amp putting out 250 rms or more, at 4 ohms mono is going to be what you look for in an amp.

Now, as far as amps to run these subs, the list can go on forever as far as good quality amps in any price range... here is what I would like to know.

-what do you plan on buying all together? (head unit? new front speakers? amp? etc..)
-what is your budget total for everything you are upgrading
-what kind of music do you listen to and what type of sound are you looking for out of your system?(some people want overpowering bass, some people want crystal clear highs, some people want a nice flat frequency response at all volume levels, some people want to go as far as they can to hear the music exactly as it was recorded and meant to be heard. you get the idea)
-what kind of vehicle? this plays a big part sometimes!!