What's new

Jazz Drummers (1 Viewer)

MattCPT

Stunt Coordinator
I have always appreciated good drummers (Neil Peart, etc..) in rock. Since listening to my Dave Brubeck "Time Out" SACD and the song take five, my ears have been opened to jazz drummers. I was hoping that someone who is knowledgeable on jazz drummers could give me some recommendations for listening. If there is a SACD with a great jazz drummer that would be perfect but not expected.

The drummer could be one that does a solo or just one that adds a lot to the music as a result of their skill. I generally like fast beats and frequent change-ups (for lack of a better adjective, I'm not a musician by any means)

Thanks,

Matt

NP: Metallica S&M

Rachael B

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Rachael Bellomy
Try SAXOPHONE COLOSSUS by Sonny Rollins. Max Roach's druming is just too superlative. SPECTRUM by Billy Cobham is good in the fusion genere. I would explore Bill Bruford's solo albums like FEELS GOOD TO ME. Best wishes!

Mike Broadman

Senior HTF Member
Oh man, I love this topic. :)

My personal favorite jazz drummer is Art Blakey, because he has the strongest and most driving sense of swing I've heard. His band for many decades, The Jazz Messangers, always feature the hottest musicians in the business. You can't go wrong picking up any of his many, many albums.

Max Roach is a master of subtlety, style, and dynamics. His stuff with Clifford Brown is gorgeous, but he played on so many albums it's impossible to list them.

For some amazing second generation post-bop music, I love Tony Williams, specifically his participation in Miles Davis' "second quintet." Albums like ESP, Miles Smiles, Sorcerer, and Nefertiti find a very young Williams exploring the concept of implying a beat, allowing space to play around the traditional rhythms.

No jazz drumming thread would be complete without mentioning Buddy Rich, of course. A favorite of many swing lovers.