What's new

Is HT audio a compromise if you like high end , non-video music listening too? (1 Viewer)

Mark Kingston

Auditioning
I'm new to HT setup , and it's something I'd like to have to some degree or another, but, I also like very high fidelity sound that moves a lot of air ie- just listening to music CD's, .wav files ,etc...Every store setup I've seen of HT systems sounded good for movie dialogue and soundtrack music, but just doesn't cut it for music the way I want to hear it (lots of power, where you can really feel those low, but not too low frequencies...from 60hz to about 200hz or so...a range that HT speakers/systems seem abysmal at). The surround speakers just are nowhere near beefy enough for my taste..it's like you get a major dose of ultra low bass from the subwoofer, and then all this higher range stuff (albeit very clear) with absolutely no kick...Seems like HT surround sound is a poor compromise if you want raw , clublike power ala those great 12" or 15" woofer loaded speakers from the 70's! What I envision having is a switchable system with dedicated amps for a pair of big woofer stereo speakers in the front and the same pair in the rear for strictly audio listening ,where the single stereo signal gets fed to both pairs via a sound mixer, and then maybe later adding surround type speakers that get the full surround information from the DVD, programming, whatever...I just don't feel music needs to be in surround for music listening , because that's not what you hear when you see a great live rock band or orchestra play..it's all binaural. Anyways, maybe I just haven't heard a good HT speaker setup playing strictly audio yet that sounds like I want, as I've only been to a few chain stores...I did have my eye on a nice Carver preamp though, to get the ball rolling....my reference for sound for the last several years has been a Marantz CD player fed into my M-Audio Delta Omni soundcard ,monitoring with Yorkville YSM-1 studio monitors and Sony MDR-75