What's new

Is anyone here studying martial arts? (1 Viewer)

Tom-G

Screenwriter
Real Name
Thomas
I'm studying Tang So Doo right now and I love it. I only wish that I would have started in my childhood, but it's never too late to learn.

I chose the Korean Tang So Doo because of it's emphasis on kicking. All martial arts are good, but Tang So Doo is more of a kicking art and focuses on power over finesse.

Matt_M

Stunt Coordinator
Yep

I've been taking Shotokan Karate for almost two years now. I agree its better to start early. I am still young but wish I could do the splits.

Richard Travale

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Rich Travale
Not right now but I have studied Wing Chun. I chose this because I am a pretty big guy and it really focuses on the efficiency of smaller moves and combinations of block/strikes and involves almost no acrobatics.I haven't been lately as I blew my knee out and still haven't quite recovered. I, like everyone here, wish that I had started early too. Although, our Sifu did not allow students under the age of 15 to participate but I would have liked to start at 15 rather than 24.

Tom-G

Screenwriter
Real Name
Thomas
Flexibility is my main problem. If one isn't flexible, one will have a difficult time executing proper kicks. How often do you guys do your stretching? Is your stretching relegated to the days you have class, or do you stretch on the other days too?

I sometimes am the only person in the morning class and when I spar with my instructor, it's very difficult to execute kicks because he is tall (about 6'4). If I had better flexibility, I could do better kicks, there is no doubts there.

Dan Hine

Screenwriter
I studied Tae Kwon Do for 8 yrs and helped to teach for 4. During that time I would stretch every morning and usually every evening. I ran into some knee problems about 3yrs ago and have not felt comfortable practicing since. I'm not sure if it is a result of all the kicking or not, though.

Dan Hine

Ryan Peter