What's new

I need a new receiver!!! Suggestions? (1 Viewer)

BDB0808

Auditioning
Real Name
Brian Beadle
Hey everyone, im kinda new to the home theater scene. I just got a new tv and am looking to upgrade my current system piece by piece. I just ordered my new subwoofer, a velodyne dps-10, and am going to have to wait on the center and satellites for a while. But for now they will have to do, Theater Research TR-8200 (don't laugh). I have a fairly untrained ear and have 2 questions. I need a new receiver and am not sure where to start. And when I do upgrade, i need some suggestion on speakers. I am on a pretty tight budget. what brand do you recommend for speakers. I watch alot of action movies and listen to a little music, alternative, rap, and some rock. So I dont need anything REAL special. I dont know much about receivers so thats where you guys come in. I appreciate all your help.

BDB0808

Auditioning
Real Name
Brian Beadle
Thanks for the welcome.
I realized that they were a scam after reading some other posts on a couple sites. Although since I am new i thought the system sounded great hooked up to my pioneer. The sub was very deep and loud with very little distortion. When I was living in my apartment I would get a call from the neighbors 3 stories down when I was watching action movies telling me to turn it down, we had concrete floors and ceilings. I only paid $90 for the entire set on ebay. I thought it was worlds better than any $100 HTIB I have ever heard. Although it is now time to upgrade to a more refined and quality system. That is why I am here.
My budget is around $200 for the receiver. Low I know, but I will be clearance shopping and ebaying. I got my $500 velodyne for under 300, not bad I thought.
I will be getting the PS3 for my bluray.
PVR? sorry im pretty new to this:)

Alon Goldberg

Screenwriter
Real Name
Alon Goldberg