1. Guest,
    If you need help getting to know Xenforo, please see our guide here. If you have feedback or questions, please post those here.
    Dismiss Notice

Huge High Deff DLP w/ a computer

Discussion in 'Computers' started by SciPunk, Sep 5, 2006.

  1. SciPunk

    SciPunk Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi all. This is my first post here.

    I'm about to purchase a 56" DLP projection Samsung:
    Click Here

    I'm not married to this TV yet, so if anybody has any better suggestions, please let me know.

    I'm very interested in using it to play computer games. I'm pretty computer savy, and I build my own PCs. I have an NVidia 7600 graphics card which I will upgrade if necessary. The Samsung TV has an HDMI input, and my graphics card (all graphics cards these days) has DVI out. I got the little DVI-HDMI adapter and an HDMI cable. (BTW: I already have a dual-monitor setup w/ a 27" HD LCD TV which has a DVI in... but it's only 1280x720... and "only" 27")

    I'd hate to drop all that money on this TV just to find out that I can't connect via the DVI-HDMI input, or that I can't use all 1920 x 1080 resolution. So, will this do what I want it to do? If not, what should I be looking at?
     
  2. Allen Marshall

    Allen Marshall Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2003
    Messages:
    561
    Likes Received:
    0
    Where you gonna put the screen? 56 inches might be to big for a monitor.
     
  3. Dennis*G

    Dennis*G Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    Messages:
    524
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'd be surprised if you can play any games at that resolution with any decent frame rates also. Unless you turn off all the effects, then maybe....
     
  4. John_Bonner

    John_Bonner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2000
    Messages:
    667
    Likes Received:
    0


    If you go to the Samsung website click on Support and download the manual for that tv you'll see that on page 100 of the manual titled "Using Your TV as a Computer (PC) Display" it states "You cannot connect this TV to a PC via HDMI/DVI"

    I have a Samsung DLP (purchased in 2004) and I have a home built HTPC connected via VGA. I don't play games too often but Call of Duty 2 at 1280x720 looks great with no lag and no dropped frames. I am using an NVidia 6600 card. I also have an XBOX connected via component (Y, Pb, Pr) and the picture is awesome.
     
  5. SciPunk

    SciPunk Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks a million for taking the time to find that information, John.

    I've been doing some research and I guess it all boils down to HDCP being enabled.

    As of right now, there are HDCP enabled video cards just begining to come out on the market. Apparently HDCP has been "supported" by "Graphic Processing Units" for a while now, but it was not implemented all the way through the entire video card. I'm hopful that one day soon these compaitibility issues will be behind us... especially if they are political barrier and not technical barriers.
     
  6. EdQ

    EdQ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2000
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is HDMI the better way to connect up my PC. I currently use component outputs from my ATI card. And I can run 1920 x 1080 with everything on high. Frame rates 50 -100 depending on what game I play.
     
  7. Sami Kallio

    Sami Kallio Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Messages:
    1,035
    Likes Received:
    0
    Use either components or the VGA connector. I used VGA on my HL-R hooked up to a PC and there was nothing wrong with the picture, playing games or watching a DVD.
     
  8. EdQ

    EdQ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2000
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't have a VGA input on the Mits, just Component and HDMI. Just didn't know if i was missing anything. Thanks.
     
  9. Sami Kallio

    Sami Kallio Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Messages:
    1,035
    Likes Received:
    0
    Component provides as good PQ as HDMI IMO. If there is difference it is really subtle.
     
  10. EdQ

    EdQ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2000
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    I will need to buy a new cable for the PC. So if HDMI is a bit better. I will get one. Thanks.
     
  11. JediFonger

    JediFonger Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Messages:
    3,955
    Likes Received:
    24

Share This Page