What's new

HTF REVIEW: Charmed - The Complete Second Season (1 Viewer)

Scott Kimball

Screenwriter

Charmed - The Complete Second Season

Studio: Paramount

Year: 1999 - 2000

Rated: NR

Length: 15 hours 54 minutes

Aspect Ratio: 1.33:1

Audio: Dolby Digital English Stereo

Closed Captioned

Special Features: None

Suggested Retail Price: $49.99 USD

Release Date: September 6, 2005

The Power of Three continue to charm me in the second season release of Charmed on DVD.

I’m a Charmed newbie. I had only seen two or three disjointed episodes on television until the Season One DVD set came my way. I just had to watch this set all the way through, in order... I’m getting hooked.

The actors have grown into their roles, the storytelling has gotten tighter and more threaded, and the show is just better in season two than it was in season one. While I still find myself comparing the show to one of my all time favorites, Buffy: The Vampire Slayer, the show has found a separate and distinct identity for me.

This DVD set contains all 22 episodes from season two, spread over six discs housed in double thinpacks.

The Transfers
Displayed in its native aspect ratio of 1.33:1, Charmed delivers a nice, if only slightly imperfect presentation on DVD.

The set presents us with excellent contrast. Black levels are very good, while maintaining good detail in the shadows. Whites are bright, clean and neutral - and never bloom. Colors are well rendered, with accurate values and saturation.

The episodes could be a bit sharper, but they have an acceptable level of detail for television product. I noticed less in the way of digital noise, aliasing and moire, which I found detrimental in season one.