What's new

DVD Review HTF DVD REVIEW: Casablanca: Ultimate Collector's Edition (1 Viewer)

Ken_McAlinden

Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Kenneth McAlinden

Casablanca: Ultimate Collector's Edition

Directed By: Michael Curtiz

Starring: Humphrey Bogart, Ingrid Bergman, Paul Henreid, Claude Rains, Conrad Veidt, Sydney Greenstreet, Peter Lorre

Studio: Warner Brothers

Year: 1942

Rated: PG

Film Length: 102 minutes

Aspect Ratio: 4:3

Subtitles: English SDH, French, Spanish, Portuguese

Release Date: December 2, 2008
I didn't do anything I've never done before, but when the camera moves in on that Bergman face, and she's saying she loves you, it would make anybody feel romantic. – Humphrey Bogart
The latest in Warner's recent wave of "Ultimate Collector's Editions" is Casablanca, arguably the jewel in their cinematic catalog's crown. The heart of this collection is derived from the "Two-Disc Special Edition" that was released in 2003 to commemorate the film's 60th anniversary. The first two discs in this collection are bit identical to that release, and for an assessment of the film, its presentation, and the extras, I will refer you to Herb Kane's enthusiastic review in which he highly recommended it:

http://www.hometheaterforum.com/htf/..commended.html

I fully concur with Herb's glowing assessment of the film and its DVD presentation in what I believe was his inaugural review for the "Home Theater Forum". Casablanca is easily one of my favorite two or three films of all time, and most days when asked, I would say it is number one on the list (feel free to discuss my mood swings in the "After Hours Lounge" forum). It is illustrative of the noblest of human impulses in a way that transcends its origins as a first rate World War II propaganda film to become a timeless classic.