1. Guest,
    If you need help getting to know Xenforo, please see our guide here. If you have feedback or questions, please post those here.
    Dismiss Notice

How do I record Digital Cable?

Discussion in 'Computers' started by George Monroy, Jun 22, 2004.

  1. George Monroy

    George Monroy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2001
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do I have to split it from the wall or after the cable box?

    Are there any PC cards that have a pass through to send the signal out?

    I would prefer to do this via my PC.

    Thanks
     
  2. George Monroy

    George Monroy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2001
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do I have to split it from the wall or after the cable box?

    Are there any PC cards that have a pass through to send the signal out?

    I would prefer to do this via my PC.

    Thanks
     
  3. Michael Reuben

    Michael Reuben Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 1998
    Messages:
    21,769
    Likes Received:
    2

    Then I'll move this to the HTPC section.

    M.
     
  4. Michael Reuben

    Michael Reuben Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 1998
    Messages:
    21,769
    Likes Received:
    2

    Then I'll move this to the HTPC section.

    M.
     
  5. George Monroy

    George Monroy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2001
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
  6. George Monroy

    George Monroy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2001
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
  7. John_Bonner

    John_Bonner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2000
    Messages:
    667
    Likes Received:
    0
    I record Digital Cable by using the S-Video out from the cable box into my capture card's S-Video In.

    I have a Hauppauge PVR-250 and use SageTV software.
    To change channels I use an Actisys IR-200L.

    I bought the PVR-250, software and the Actisys all from Sage (Frey Technologies). Works great.
     
  8. John_Bonner

    John_Bonner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2000
    Messages:
    667
    Likes Received:
    0
    I record Digital Cable by using the S-Video out from the cable box into my capture card's S-Video In.

    I have a Hauppauge PVR-250 and use SageTV software.
    To change channels I use an Actisys IR-200L.

    I bought the PVR-250, software and the Actisys all from Sage (Frey Technologies). Works great.
     
  9. Peter Chen

    Peter Chen Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I record digital cable by routing the video/audio output from my receiver to my DVR. Select TV on the receiver, select input on the DVR, and hit record. Quality depends on the connection type you have to the DVR.
     

Share This Page