What's new

How did you stumble across the Hometheaterforum.com? (1 Viewer)

gene c

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Gene
I found this site about 3-4 years ago from an add placed in the back of DVDETC magazine. I had bought my first avr (AIWA DV-75) in 2001 and quickly realized that even though I had been listening to music for close to 30 years, mostly via headphones or in the car, I really didn't know what I was doing. So I started buying magazines and did learn a few things, but also knew that they had their limitations. Then I saw the add. I've learned quite a bit around here the last 3-4 years but needless to say, I still have a long way to go. Hopefully HTF will continue to help get me there. So how, and why, did you find this place?

Michael_K_Sr

Screenwriter
Real Name
MichaelK

Written on the wall of a bathroom stall. :laugh: JK

Found the forum when The Digital Bits had a mention of an online chat that HTF was hosting.

MarkHastings

Senior HTF Member
I was a member of DVDtalk back in 1999 and a lot of it's members were also members here, so I used to come here for info, but never joined. It wasn't until I had issues with that other site, that I came here as a member.

Kevin M

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Kevin Ray
I used to go to DVDFile all the time and post on their boards and read their reviews for about a year & 1/2 (circa 97-99) and then someone there mentioned The Digital Bits as a site that had good info on up coming DVD releases so I started browsing around there for a few days until I noticed a button that said "forums"....I though hey, they have a discussion board as well...it was actually a link to our little haven here at HTF and I right away noticed how the members here didn't have the shitty attitude and newsgroup mentality that frankly most people over at DVDFile had...haven't been back there since. ;)

Francois Caron

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
François Caron